Art by
Provides a guided tour around 2,500 of the world's most influential painting and sculptures, from cave paintings to modern masterpieces.
How to Understand Art by
The visual arts enrich our lives in many ways: bringing innovative ideas and the pleasures of beauty and emotion, but they can also confound. How To Understand Art sets out to enhance the viewer's experience by breaking down the elements of art and sculpture to provide a firm basis for simple enjoyment as well as further investigation.
Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning by
Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.
The Joy of Art: How to Look at, Appreciate, and Talk about Art by
"Written by a practicing artist, this book decodes and maps the basic elements of visual art, leading . . . to a greater understanding and appreciation"--Back cover.
Visual Communication Design by
Where do design principles come from? Are they abstract'rules'established by professionals or do they have roots in human experience? And if we encounter these visual phenomena in our everyday lives, how do designers use them to attract our attention, orient our behavior, and create compelling and memorable communication that stands out among the thousands of messages we confront each day? Today's work in visual communication design shifts emphasis from simply designing objects to designing experiences; to crafting form that acknowledges cognitive and cultural influences on interpretation. In response, Meredith Davis and Jamer Hunt provide a new slant on design basics from the perspective of audiences and users.
Black Art: A Cultural History by
A thematic survey of Black art, tracing the changing visual representations of black culture throughout the twentieth century and into the twenty-first century, looking at specific works of art, and analyzing their significance. Includes biographical notes on featured artists.
Critical Terms for Art History, Second Edition by
Offers a spirited reassessment of art history's methods and terminology.
DC Comics Cover Art by
From the trailblazing works of Bob Kane, to the photorealistic stylings of Adam Hughes and quirky humor of Amanda Conner, DC Comics Cover Art is a collection of the most iconic covers in DC's history. The stunning artwork is accompanied by expert commentary exploring the significance of each cover, while artist profiles shed light on their creators. Discover the most striking covers from more than 85 years of DC Comics.
A People's Art History of the United States by
Most people outside of the art world view art as something that is foreign to their experiences and everyday lives. A People's Art History of the United States places art history squarely in the rough–;and–;tumble of politics, social struggles, and the fight for justice from the colonial era through the present day. Author and radical artist Nicolas Lampert combines historical sweep with detailed examinations of individual artists and works in a politically charged narrative that spans the conquest of the Americas, the American Revolution, slavery and abolition, western expansion, the suffragette movement and feminism, civil rights movements, environmental movements, LGBT movements, antiglobalization movements, contemporary antiwar movements, and beyond.
African American Arts by
Signaling such recent activist and aesthetic concepts in the work of Kara Walker, Childish Gambino, BLM, Janelle Monáe, and Kendrick Lamar, and marking the exit of the Obama Administration and the opening of the National Museum of African American History and Culture, this anthology explores the role of African American arts in shaping the future, and further informing new directions we might take in honoring and protecting the success of African Americans in the U.S. The essays in African American Arts: Activism, Aesthetics, and Futurity engage readers in critical conversations by activists, scholars, and artists reflecting on national and transnational legacies of African American activism as an element of artistic practice, particularly as they concern artistic expression and race relations, and the intersections of creative processes with economic, sociological, and psychological inequalities.
Drone Art: The Everywhere War As Medium by
What happens when a drone enters a gallery or appears on screen? What thresholds are crossed as this weapon of war occupies everyday visual culture? These questions have appeared with increasing regularity since the advent of the War on Terror, when drones began migrating into civilian platforms of film, photography, installation, sculpture, performance art, and theater. In this groundbreaking study, Thomas Stubblefield attempts not only to define the emerging genre of'drone art'but to outline its primary features, identify its historical lineages, and assess its political aspirations. Richly detailed and politically salient, this book is the first comprehensive analysis of the intersections between drones, art, technology, and power.
Sensing Decolonial Aesthetics and Latin American Arts by
Bringing Latin American popular art out of the margins and into the center of serious scholarship, this book rethinks the cultural canon and recovers previously undervalued cultural forms as art. Juan Ramos uses 'decolonial aesthetics,' a theory that frees the idea of art from Eurocentric forms of expression and philosophies of the beautiful, to examine the long decade of the 1960s in Latin America--a time of cultural production that has not been studied extensively from a decolonial perspective. Ramos looks at examples of 'antipoetry,' unconventional verse that challenges canonical poets and often addresses urgent social concerns.
War Baby / Love Child by
War Baby / Love Child examines hybrid Asian American identity through a collection of essays, artworks, and interviews at the intersection of critical mixed race studies and contemporary art. The book pairs artwork and interviews with nineteen emerging, mid-career, and established mixed race/mixed heritage Asian American artists, including Li-lan and Kip Fulbeck, with scholarly essays exploring such topics as Vietnamese Amerasians, Korean transracial adoptions, and multiethnic Hawai'i. As an increasingly ethnically ambiguous Asian American generation is coming of age in an era of'optional identity,'this collection brings together first-person perspectives and a wider scholarly context to shed light on changing Asian American cultures.Watch the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJp0MDtKqyY&list=UUge4MONgLFncQ1w1C_BnHcw&index=2&feature=plcp
Women Can't Paint by
In 2013 Georg Baselitz declared that'women don't paint very well'. Whilst shocking, his comments reveal what Helen Gørrill argues is prolific discrimination in the artworld. In a groundbreaking study of gender and value, Gørrill proves that there are few aesthetic differences in men and women's painting, but that men's art is valued at up to 80 per cent more than women's. Indeed, the power of masculinity is such that when men sign their work it goes up in value, yet when women sign their work it goes down. Museums, the author attests, are also complicit in this vicious cycle as they collect tokenist female artwork which impinges upon its artists'market value. An essential text for students and teachers, Gørrill's book is provocative and challenges existing methodologies whilst introducing shocking evidence. She proves how the price of being a woman impacts upon all forms of artistic currency, be it social, cultural or economic and in the vanguard of the'Me Too'movement calls for the artworld to take action.
