Mentorship & Research

The Library's collection contains databases, journals, books, videos, research guides, and a service called interlibrary loan, where we can ask another library to lend us the requested material.

• Universal search is the search bar on the MoLib homepage. It is the easiest place to start with a library search and will pull almost all relevant resources together in one place. Try a search here. 
• Databases are collections of informational materials. They are often grouped based on subject area and format. Examples include historical newspapers, scientific scholarly articles, and educational videos. See full Database List here.
• Journals are edited volumes of scholarly articles. Search for journals here.
• Books include physical, electronic, and audio versions. Physical books are housed in the library and can be found by searching the library book catalog. Ebooks are accessed through the Universal Search or Database List. Audiobooks are primarily available through Hoopla. 
• Research guides are Library-curated resources and instructions to assist students and faculty with their work. Topics range from citations to research in Data Science. See full list here.
• Interlibrary loan refers to a process whereby we request another library send us material. If NCSSM-Morganton does not have access to material a patron is looking for, another library may lend it to us. Complete the ILL Request form.

Research Rabbit is an AI-powered visualization and citation mapping tool.

• Users must create an account to begin then create a collection on your topic.
• Recommended for locating specific, known papers, authors, or subject keywords rather than beginning a broad search.
• Use "explore papers" or "explore people" to view citation-based connections among works and scholars.

Google Scholar works similar to a Universal Search on the MoLib website, searching scholarly articles, books, theses, and other literature to return relevant results. We recommend linking Google Scholar to the MoLib catalog so you can easily access materials through our subscriptions. You will also run into paywalls for materials beyond our catalog, in which case we can request them through interlibrary loan.

Instructions for linking Google Scholar to NCSSM-Morganton catalog

• Go to Google Scholar.
• Select the hamburger icon on the top left.

• Select Settings at the bottom.

• Select Library Links

• Search: North Carolina School of Science and Math. Select: NCSSM-Morganton. Select: Save.

• Your searches on Google Scholar should now be linked to the Library.
• This means for any search results available at the Library, you will see a link to "Get it! @ NCSSM-MOR" on the right hand side.

• Clicking this link on the right hand side will take you directly to the item.