Primary Sources

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego. Dates: 1492-1825.

Original drawings for editorial cartoons, caricatures, and comic strips in U.S. magazines and newspapers. Dates: 1700s-present, primarily 1880-1980.

Photographs, videos, oral histories, and more related to the Civil Rights Movement of the 1950's and 60's. Browse by event, people, or collections.

Search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions across Europe. Includes collections by material type, such as newspapers, and time periods, such as WWI. Funded by the European Union.

Over one million searchable images. Many but not all available online. Recommended: search by keyword then select View > Gallery.

Digital exhibit of panoramic photographs from National Archives and Records Administration. Dates: 1864 to 1937, most from WWI era.

Digitized collections of NYPL archives. Keyword search for material type or subject. Select filters tab to narrow search by topic or date.

"Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives," commemorates the end of the 20th century with a selection of photographs from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Posters covering social protest movements such as Anarchism, Civil Liberties, Colonialism, Communism, Ecology, Labor, LGBT+ Rights, Pacifism, Socialism, Women, and Youth/Student Protest. Dates: majority from 1960's.

Photos, prints, and drawings documenting geographic locations or popular subjects, including city and harbor views, street scenes, and manufacturing plants to genre scenes, historical events, religious iconography and portraits. Dates: 1700-1900.

Digital exhibit focused on U.S. posters and strategies of persuasion in form and content of World War II posters.

An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. From Harvard University. Search limited to images.