Skip to Main Content

Student Resources

Information about NCSSM-Morganton Library resources and services for students.

Starting Your Research

The Library's collection contains databases, journals, books, videos, research guides, and a service called interlibrary loan, where we can ask another library to lend us the requested material.

  • Databases are collections of informational materials. They are often grouped based on subject area and format. Examples include historical newspapers, scientific scholarly articles, and educational videos. See full Database List here.
  • Journals are edited volumes of scholarly articles. Search for journals here.
  • Books include physical, electronic, and audio versions. Physical books are housed in the library and can be found by searching the library book catalog. Ebooks are accessed through the Universal Search or Database List. Audiobooks are primarily available through Hoopla. 
  • Research guides are Library-curated resources and instructions to assist students and faculty with their work. Topics range from citations to research in Data Science. See full list here.
  • Interlibrary loan refers to a process whereby we request another library send us material. If NCSSM-Morganton does not have access to material a patron is looking for, another library may lend it to us. Complete the ILL Request form.

Databases

From https://www.ncssm.edu/residential/ncssm-morganton/morganton-library, select the purple Databases button on the left hand side. Select the All Subjects drop down. Select Science to display resources tagged as Science. This list will provide direct links to databases and journals that the Library subscribes to, including Science Online, ScienceDirect, SpringerLink, and American Chemical Society journals. Access resources using your NCSSM email and password. Contact Jay Singley or Travis Seevers with any access issues.

Journals

From Morganton Library’s e-journal portal, you have several search options. Enter a journal title and select search Enter a DOI or PMID number for an article and search (these are specific strings of numbers used to identify & retrieve articles and books) Browse by subject (for example, Physical Sciences & Mathematics > Biochemistry) Browse by title To view a journal, select the hyperlink database title right above the “Search inside this journal” bar Another option is to use the “Search inside this journal” function to look up articles of interest Note: the dates listed in the journal’s item record show you the coverage we have access to. Sometimes our coverage is historical and in some cases it is the last 4 years to present.